Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need help on buying a turtle

Default I need help on buying a turtle

So I am brand new to the reptile world and I would like to purchase a turtle. I am going to get one mid December close to around Christmas.
    I was wondering what aquatic turtles would be the easiest to own and where can I buy one?
    - Thank you

Default Re: I need help on buying a turtle

No to dissuade you, but I have a turtle and had I known how much time, space, energy and money are required for their proper upkeep and husbandry I would not own one, nor would I reccomend them as a great starter reptile. A tortoise, of a smaller species, would perhaps be an easier choice. Also, I'm not sure about the turtle laws in Alberta, but last I knew, owning was legal, but selling was not. You would want to look into rescues.
    ~Lauren~
    Keanu the Reeves Turtle, 3 Tiger Sallies- Benedict, Carlton and the 12 (ish) year old Buddy, Lavender the Leopard Gecko, Marvin and Elvis the guinea pigs, Hoodoo the gargoyle gecko, Irwin, a childrens python, Tiberius the Corn Snake, Sherlock the Cat, and Lacey the Dog

There are a variety of turtles that can be sold here, the issue is with red eared sliders which cannot technically be sold so most people sell the tank with "free turtle" with it. The rescue has quite a few of these but not sure how the adoption fee works for that. I'm not much of a turtle person so I don't have much good advice on what species is best, but something smaller is probably better. Perhaps Reeves turtles. Some of the reptile specialty shops in Calgary might have some in (J&Js, Got Reptiles) although I do seem to remember a turtle breeder in Alberta that had a variety. Not sure if they're still around.
    Snakes, Lizards, Frogs, Salamanders, Newts, Tarantulas, Scorpions, etc.

Reeves turtles are great, small pets. As are smaller tortoises like Russians and all the Testudo species.