Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Axolotl parasites.

Default Axolotl parasites.

I'm new to owning axolotls and I've purchased my first around two months ago. A few weeks ago I noticed a worm popping out of his skin around the gills. I thought it was part of his gill structure until today when I found him after he shed with another worm by his gill and a few yellow spots that resemble the area around the worms that have already popped out. I'm thinking that he has round worms but I don't know if they generally protrude out of the skin. What can I do to help him? Are these actually round worms? I'll post some pics later. Thanks.

Default Re: Axolotl parasites.

Roundworms are internal parasites; they wouldn't be on the gills. I havn't personally seen any axolotl parasites. If this is an axolotl it would be captive bred; there are no wild caught specimens in Canada to my knowledge. Could it have been mixed with other animals of wild-caught origin? This may have been the source of the parasite. Are the worms truly coming out of the skin, or are they just caught in the gills? If they are coming out of the skin, then that rules out confusion with environmental invertebrates which can be common, and normal.

If you are concerned, I recommend a veterinary visit. Sooner if your salamander is acting sick/isn't eating.

Ian
    Ian Kanda

This is the parasite(s). It's a little hard to see. I'll try to get more later.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hmm I am curious too, never had experience with any worms with my
    Axolotl

and never heard of it before..
    Alexanderyana Aka Ellie
    0.1.0 Bearded Dragon, 40 Leapord/Crestied ,Gargoyle ,Fat Tail Geckos,0.1.0 Cuban Knight Anole,1.1.0 Diamond Back Turtle, 0.1.0 Black Breasted Leaf Turtle. 1.1.0. Corn Snakes, 1.0.0 Sand Boa,1.0.0 Bumblee Bee BP,0.0.1 Lemon Pastel BP, 1.0.0 Mexican Black Kingsnake, 0.0.2 Axolotls,0.0.5 Trantulas, 3 Cats, 2 Dogs.